The Taoiseach ed Iain Dale COMING 31 OCTOBER 2025


Expected shipping date: 31st Oct 2025

Swift Publishing
31 October 2025

The book of the podcast series hosted by Iain Dale, available on all podcast platforms.

A chapter on each of the 15 men who have held the office of Taoiseach of the Republic of Ireland by a group of Irish politicians, historians, journalists and academics.

W T Cosgrave – expert: Dr Ciara Meehan, reader in politics at the University of Hertfordshire
Eamon de Valera – expert: David McCullagh, Irish journalist, author and presenter with RTÉ, Ireland's national radio and television station, and De Valera’s biographer
John Costello – expert: Charles Lysaght, Irish lawyer, biographer, obituarist and columnist.
Sean Lemass – expert: Bryce Evans, professor of modern history at Liverpool Hope University
Jack Lynch – expert: Stephen Collins, columnist with and former political editor of The Irish Times
Liam Cosgrave – expert: Deirdre Foley, Irish Research Council Fellow at University College Cork
Charles Haughey – expert: Gary Murphy, Professor of Politics at Dublin City University
Garret FitzGerald – expert: Eoin O’Malley, Associate Professor of Political Science at Dublin City University
Albert Reynolds – expert: Martin Mansergh, former Fianna Fáil parliamentarian and government minister
John Bruton – expert: tbc
Bertie Ahern – expert: Mick Clifford, special correspondent with the Irish Examiner.
Brian Cowen – expert: Theresa Reidy, lecturer in politics at University College Cork
Enda Kenny – expert: tbc
Leo Varadkar – expert: Philip Ryan, Group Political Editor of Independent Newspapers in Dublin, and Varadkar’s biographer
Micheál Martin – expert: Gavan Reilly, Irish journalist working for Newstalk and Virgin Media One
Simon Harris - expert: Pat Leahy, Political editor, Irish Times

W T Cosgrave 1922-32
Eamon de Valera 1932-59
John Costello 1948-57
Sean Lemass 1959-66
Jack Lynch 1966-79
Liam Cosgrave 1973-77
Charles Haughey 1977-92
Garret Fitzgerald 1981-
Albert Reynolds 1992-94
John Bruton 1994-97
Bertie Ahern 1997-2008
Brian Cowen 2008-11
Enda Kenny 2011-17
Leo Varadkar 2017-2022-
Micheál Martin 2020-22
Simon Harris 2024-

You may also like…